Who am I?

A German who lived and worked for 10 years in Cambridge and London.

Now back in Germany, in Monheim next to Düsseldorf.

I have long international experience in diverse technology related areas as Project Manager, Editor, Alliance Manager and Product Manager. On top of that I am a certified PRINCE2 Practitioner.

On the personal side, I love my two little dogs, Yogi and Fussel and when I am not hiking or walking with them, I am an avid beader, creating my own jewellery.

My education

After my Abitur (~A-Levels) I studied German, British Cultural and American Studies at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum including two terms at National University of Ireland in Galway as part of the Erasmus programme from the EU.

My professional career

After finishing university with a B.A. phil degree I moved to Cambridge, UK. During the next 10 years I worked in different roles developing my project management skills.

First as an Editor in digital publishing. HTML, XML, SGML data conversion, content development management of multiple releases of the Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker over 5 years, digitising the literary volumes of the Deutscher Klassiker collection published by the Deutsche Klassiker Verlag.

Then as a Project Manager in Customer Service for a Virtual Data Room provider in London, managing a number of simultaneous client projects internationally. These were predominantly due diligence projects for mergers and acquisitions.

I returned to publishing as an Alliance Manager, building publisher relations and licensing content for database products for the academic library market making academic journals, magazines and newspaper content digitally available and searchable.

Following this I became a Product Manager for Assistive Technology, mainly software such as screen readers, text-to-speech and literacy learning tools for people with learning difficulties such as dyslexia. In this challenging and rewarding field I was responsible for supplier relations and representing the company at trade shows as well as providing advice and information to customers.

After 10 years in the UK I eventually decided I wanted to be back in Germany near my family. I then proceeded with the adventure to move a household, a dog and a few months later my partner, to Meerbusch in Germany.

After working as Project Manager at a communication agency, responsible for the international trade show measures for one of the largest German chemical companies, I took a temporary position as Assistant to the managing director at the central agency for continuing vocational education and training in the skilled crafts (ZWH).

Following that I was a Project Assistant at a construction consultancy, being placed in the project management team at the client (a large fashion lable based in Ratingen). I worked with architects and building engineers in the retail construction department responsible for the refurbishment and building of the retail and outlet stores.

I have completed two project management methodology courses and am now an APMG certified PRINCE2 Practitioner.

What else?

I enjoy spending my free time with my 2 dogs, a Border Terrier called Yogi and a Norfolk Terrier called Fussel. My partner and the pack are often found having long walks along the Rhine or through nearby woods or hiking in the Westerwald with my parents and in nice countryside across the country. I take a lot of photographs and when at home and in a creative mood I love beading, creating jewellery for myself, friends and family.

Sabine and Yogi the Border Terrier Photo of Yogi the Border Terrier sitting next to Fussel the Norfolk Terrier Group photo of Sabine, Ian and Yogi

Where to find me